for someone who’s afraid of heights, I jumped pretty high.

2013-01-10 22:47:48


Every little choice that we make in our day is going to cause some kind of change. It doesn’t matter how big or important this change is gonna be later. It only… happens.

Since the first moment that I started wondering about my exchange, I was conscious that nothing would be the same anymore. 
It’s been already five months since I last saw my family, since I hugged my friends as if I was never going to see them again, and felt that I was letting my whole world go as I waved goodbye for the last time. It’s been already five months that I took a deep breath and felt happy because It was something that I had conquered. And I must say, for someone who’s afraid of heights, I jumped pretty high. 

I already knew that as soon as I stepped on that plane, I would need to have a lot of courage, because I was on my own. For the first time, I was alone and I had to deal with it.
It’s not so hard as it seems, you know? This thing people call “detachment”. Sometimes it’s gonna make you wanna cry, it’s gonna bring you down for a moment, but it will soon be over. I think it’s nice to think that we let things go, so we can welcome new ones… so we can concentrate in what we’re living now. It was a really good friend of mine who once told me that. And at the time, I really couldn’t understand what she said. But now I see. 

It’s been five months since left my country. My life has changed in so many ways… and even though everyone’s life back home are more or less the same, every little thing that they do causes a little change. That’s the thing of being a exchange student, we take a lot of big changes, the ones that we can really see, in a really small amount of time. People back home are changing, one step at the time, but they are. And when we stop to think about this, we realize how we’re not in their lives anymore. Or better, we are, but in a different way… we’re in their thoughts. And we get kind amazed that they are doing so well without us. And of course, we can speak with them, but it’s not the same. 

And you know what? At first I though it was the end of the world… this “oh my God, they are doing fine while I’m away” feeling… But now, I think it’s fair enough that they are doing fine. I’m actually glad that they are doing fine… Because, somehow, I’m also living without them and I’m having the time of my life. And I know there are a lot of people that are happy for me. 
Changes happen. Sometimes faster, sometimes slower… But they happen and we must understand that. And I think that this is one of the most precious and important things that we’re going to learn with this experience.

Jag hittade denna text på tumblr och den handlar om hur det är att åka som utbytesstudent. Ta er tid att läsa den. Det är den värd.



Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)


URL/Bloggadress:


Kommentar:


DESIGN BY ALEXANDRAERIKSSON.SE